Return to Headlines

Senate Education Committee Assignments Announced

Elizabeth Yelverton | NCASA Legal Affairs and Policy Manager

Leadership in the General Assembly recently announced additional committee assignments, including positions in Senate education committees. When session convened for a ceremonial day last Wednesday, only members of the House Base Budget Appropriations and Finance committees had been announced. The most recent committee assignments are as follows: 

Senate Committee Assignments

  • Education/Higher Education Appropriations
    • Chairs: Sens. Deanna Ballard (R-Watauga); Jerry Tillman (R-Randolph)
    • Members: Sens. Rick Horner (R-Nash); Todd Johnson (R-Union); Ted Alexander (R-Cleveland); Chuck Edwards (R-Henderson); Don Davis (D-Greene); Erica Smith (D-Northampton); Joyce Waddell (D-Mecklenburg); Wiley Nickel (D-Wake)
  • Education/Higher Education Policy
    • Chairs: Sens. Deanna Ballard (R-Watauga); Rick Horner (R-Nash); Jerry Tillman (R-Randolph)
    • Members: Norman Sanderson (R-Carteret); Joyce Krawiec (R-Forsyth); Andy Wells (R-Catawba); Chuck Edwards (R-Henderson); Paul Newton (R-Cabarrus); Todd Johnson (R-Union); Kathy Harrington (R-Gaston); Tom McInnis (R-Richmond); Don Davis (D-Greene); Gladys Robinson (D-Guilford); Jay Chaudhuri (D-Wake); Valerie Foushee (D-Orange); Sam Searcy (D-Wake)

House Committee Assignments

  • Base Budget Appropriations
    • Senior Chairs: Reps. Jason Saine (R-Lincoln); Linda Johnson (R-Cabarrus); Donny Lambeth (R-Forsyth)
    • Chairs: Reps. Dean Arp (R-Union); Bill Brisson (R-Bladen); Josh Dobson (R-McDowell); John Faircloth (R-Guilford); Chuck McGrady (R-Henderson)
  • Finance
    • Chairs: Reps. Julia Howard (R-Davie); Mitchell Setzer (R-Catawba); John Szoka (R-Cumberland)


NCASA will continue to monitor any further committee assignment announcements and provide updates as needed.

Elizabeth Yelverton