Return to Headlines

General Assembly Holds Swearing-In Ceremony, Committee Leaders Announced

Elizabeth Yelverton | NCASA Legal Affairs & Policy Manager 

The General Assembly officially commenced the 2019-2020 legislative session on Wednesday, January 9, as both the House and Senate held swearing-in ceremonies for new and incumbent legislators. Legislators did not introduce substantive legislation during the ceremonial day, but instead held organizational meetings and took necessary votes regarding rules and leadership. 

The Senate voted unanimously to re-elect Sen. Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) for a fifth term as Senate President Pro Tempore, and House lawmakers voted to re-elect Rep. Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) for a third term as House Speaker. The Senate also elected Sen. Ralph Hise (R-Mitchell) as Senate Deputy Leader, while the House re-elected Rep. Sarah Stevens (R-Surry) as Speaker Pro Tempore.

In addition to announcing new chamber leadership, the House also revealed assignments for certain committees, which are listed as follows: 

House Committee on Appropriations:

  • Reps. Jason Saine (R-Lincoln); Linda Johnson (R-Cabarrus); and Donny Lambeth (R-Forsyth) as senior co-chairmen
  • Reps. Dean Arp (R-Union); Bill Brisson (R-Bladen); Josh Dobson (R-McDowell); John Faircloth (R-Guilford); and Chuck McGrady, (R-Henderson) as chairmen

House Committee on Finance:

  • Reps. Julia Howard (R-Davie); Mitchell Setzer (R-Catawba); and John Szoka (R-Cumberland) as committee chairs

House Committee on Rules, Calendar and Operations of the House

  • Rep. David Lewis (R-Harnett) will remain chairman. 

The Senate did not announce any committee assignments on Wednesday, and Education Chairs in the House and Senate have yet to be formally announced. Leadership in both chambers have stated more assignments will be announced before Session reconvenes on January 30. The North Carolina Association of School Administrators (NCASA) will continue to follow committee assignments as they are announced, as we make further preparations to work with legislative leaders to accomplish our legislative and policy goals.  

Elizabeth Yelverton