Return to Headlines

Seven Innovative NC Superintendents Awarded the Friday Medal

Superintendents receive the Friday Medal

Seven North Carolina Superintendents received The Friday Medal at a ceremony held November 15, 2017, both for their own accomplishments and as representatives of the many other dedicated and innovative rural superintendents who serve the students of the North Carolina. Recipients include Dr. Darrin Hartness, Davie County; Dr. Anthony Jackson, Vance County; Dr. Janet Mason, Rutherford County; Dr. Jeff McDaris, Transylvania County; 2017-2018 NCASA President Dr. Patrick Miller, Greene County; Dr. Lynn Moody, Rowan-Salisbury; and Dr. Robert Taylor, Bladen County. 

Statements on innovation and the need for equity in our rural counties are shown below: 

Dr. Darrin Hartness, Davie County
"I have the incredible opportunity each day to be the voice of thousands of children, many of whom do not have an advocate at home and do not yet have a voice to elect those who will advocate for their education."

Dr. Anthony Jackson, Vance County
"Our students' futures give me the fuel to continue working to make sure that we're opening all of the doors they need to be successful, stand on their own, and be productive."

Dr. Janet Mason, Rutherford County
"As educators, we have the power to impact lives in both postitive and negative ways. I pray and I strive that my actions do the former."

Dr. Jeff McDaris, Transylvania County
"We are on the threshold of a dramatic and dynamic change in what we think of as a school, buildings, and instruction. No one is better positioned to lead this in the right direction than our public schools."

Dr. Lynn Moody, Rowan-Salisbury
"I want to be sure every child has the foundation, opportunity and skills to live out their dreams (or our dreams for them when they don't have one for themselves yet)."

Dr. Robert Taylor, Bladen County
"Education remains the great equalizer in our society. Without adequate access and training in the use of technology as a teaching tool, we run the risk of limiting too many, particularly rural communities, access to the great equalizer."

Dr. Patrick Miller, Greene County
"I firmly believe that the ZIP code in which a child is born should not determine his or her future. I have worked my entire career to ensure that children from Greene County have comparable experiences and opportunities as those from more affluent counties." Dr. Patrick Miller is proudly serving as NCASA's 2017-2018 President. 

The Friday Medal honors significant, distinguished and enduring contributions to education through advocating innovation, advancing education and imparting inspiration. In recognition of the commitment of Bill and Ida Friday to educational excellence, the College of Education's William & Ida Friday Institute for Educational Innovation created The Friday Medal. The award is given annually to those who embody the mission and spirit of The Friday Institute. 

"These seven superintendents have embraced digital learning and digital leadership. They determined early on in this journey that digital learning is any instructional practice that effectively uses technology to strengthen a students' learning experience," remarked NCSSA Director Jack Hoke.

Please join NCASA as we congratulate all of the honorees not only for their effort but also their leadership.



Past Friday Medal Recipients Include: 

2016 | Hon. Howard E. Manning Jr.; Former Superior Court Judge who oversaw enforcement of Leandro v. State of North Carolina
2015 | Hon. Bob Wise; Former Governor of West Virginia and President of the Alliance for Excellent Education
2014 | Muriel Thomas Summers; Principal of A.B. Combs Leadership Elementary School and Co-Author of The Leader in Me
2013 | Dr. Robert Tinker; President Emeritus and Founder of the Concord Consortium
2012 | Dr. David Rose; Faculty Member at Harvard University and Co-founder and CEO for the Center for Applied Special Technology
2011 | Dr. Bill McNeal; Transformation School Coach in Durham and the 2004 National Superintendent of the Year
2010 | Dr. Linda Darling-Hammond; Charles E. Ducommon Professor of Education at Stanford University
2009 | Dr. Chris Dede: Timothy E. Wirth Professor in Learning Technologies at Harvard University
2008 | Hon. James B. Hunt Jr.; Former Governor of North Carolina
2008 | Dr. Don Leu; Neag Endowed Chair in Literacy and Technology at the University of Connecticut
2007 | Bette Manchester; Director of the Maine Learning Technology Initiative
2006 | Dr. Ken Branch; Founding Principal of Centennial Campus Middle School

Anne Strickland