Return to Headlines

House Looks To Promote Access To Advanced Educational Opportunity For Economically Disadvantaged Students

One of the final items taken up by the General Assembly before adjournment of the short session was the establishment of a new committee within the House of Representatives that could ultimately develop legislation promoting access to advanced educational opportunities for our state’s high-achieving, low-income students. The resolution has a bipartisan group of sponsors that includes Rep. Ed Hanes (D-Forsyth), Rep. Hugh Blackwell (R-Burke), Debra Conrad (R-Forsyth), and Rodney Moore (D-Mecklenburg).

The committee will focus heavily on evaluating the following:

  • National best practices for identifying, teaching, and supporting low-income, high-achieving, and high-capability students.
  • The cost and feasibility of establishing educational opportunities across the state for high-achieving, low-income students.
  • The cost and feasibility of reestablishing a school focused on teaching this student population in the mold of the former North Carolina Advancement School.
  • The feasibility of requiring that at least 60% of those students come from rural areas of the state.
  • Any other issue the study committee considers relevant to the ends of promoting the primary purpose of the committee.

The work group will consist of nine members, six of which will be members of the House of Representatives appointed upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House. These delegates will work alongside the Superintendent of Public Instruction, the Chair of the State Board of Education, and the Present of the University of North Carolina or their designees.

The House Study Committee for Promoting Access to Advanced Educational Opportunity in our Public Schools for Economically Disadvantaged Students who Demonstrate High Academic Achievement was generated under House Resolution 1102, which requires the committee to submit a final report on the results of its study, including proposed legislation, to the General Assembly on or before December 31, 2018. The committee will terminate on December 31, 2018, or upon filing its final report, whichever comes first.

Jacqueline Wyatt for NCASA