NCASA's Champion for Children

  • Governor Roy Cooper This prestigious award is given annually to an individual who has shown commitment to and leadership in supporting and enhancing public schools in North Carolina. Governor Roy Cooper is NCASA’s 2019 Champion for Children.

    Governor Cooper has spent nearly three decades in public service protecting families, keeping communities safe, and working to create jobs and improve schools. The son of a school teacher, he knows that education creates opportunity and he has worked throughout his career to strengthen our schools and create a sound foundation for our state's children.

    Cooper served as a member of the North Carolina House of Representatives (1987-1991), as a member of the North Carolina Senate (1991-2001) and as the 49th Attorney General of North Carolina (1987-1991) before assuming the office of Governor in 2017. He believes in the potential of our great state and its people. By investing in our public schools and giving students the tools they need to succeed, creating good jobs and raising incomes for the middle class, and strengthening communities, North Carolinians can live and work in places they are proud to call home. 

    Previous NCASA Champion For Children recipients include:NCASA Champion for Children

    2018 | D. Craig Horn
    2017 | Hugh Blackwell
    2016 | James H. Langdon, Jr. 
    2015 | John Dornan
    2014 | Ann B. Goodnight
    2013 | Linda P. Johnson
    2012 | Beverly E. Perdue
    2011 | Bill McNeal & June St. Clair Atkinson
    2010 | Vernon Malone
    2009 | Howard N. Lee
    2008 | Rick Glazier
    2007 | Douglas Yongue
    2006 | James B. Hunt, Jr. & Michael F. Easley