NCASA Awards & Honors

  • The A. Craig Phillips Superintendent of the Year is given in conjunction with the North Carolina School Superintendents Association and the North Carolina School Boards Association. Recognized in fall of the year preceeding their term, this superintendent represents North Carolina on the national level, competing for AASA National Superintendent of the Year. The NCASA Champion for Children and Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award Winners are named annual that the NCASA Conference for Educational Leadership. Please join us in congratulating these folks for the great work that they are doing for public education in our state!

A. Craig Phillips Superintendent of the Year

  • Patrick Miller Dr. Patrick Miller
    Superintendent, Greene County Schools

    "He works tirelessly to improve public education for students, staff and his community as a whole, and is well-respected among his peers for his outstanding leadership," said Jack Hoke, Executive Director of the North Carolina School Superintendents' Association.  "He is most deserving of this honor." Click Here to Read More

    For a complete listing NCASA's A. Craig Phillips NC Superintendent of the Year recipients, click here

    Comments (-1)

NCASA Champion for Children

  • Hugh Blackwell NC Representative
    D. Craig Horn

    R-Union County

    Representative Horn continues to be a great supporter of and champion for North Carolina Public Schools. He serves as a beacon of enrichment for the future of North Carolina public schools, as he leads efforts to change and improve the technological environment and digital learning across the state. Click Here to Read More.

    For a complete listing of NCASA's Champion for Children recipients, click here


    Comments (-1)

NCASA Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award

  • Glenda Jones Glenda Jones, Ed.S.
    Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources
    Cabarrus County Schools

    Jones is passionate about public education and spends a great deal of time advocating for educator salaries and benefits. She serves on the North Carolina Superintendent’s Task Force for Teacher Recruitment, Retention, and Credentialing and was appointed by the North Carolina Senate in 2017 to serve on the Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission (PEPSC). Click Here to Read More

    Comments (-1)
  • David Hicks David Hicks
    Principal, Meadowbrook Academy
    Stokes County Public Schools

    David Hicks has been a teacher, coach, and administrator in North Carolina Public Schools for 32 years. Since Mr. Hicks came to Meadowbrook, the graduation rate has tripled and the overall success rate has risen from 4% to 60%. Alternative Education is his passion, and he has presented Meadowbrook’s formula for success to many school districts across North Carolina. Click Here to Read More

     For a complete listing of NCASA Raymond Sarbaugh Leadership Award recipients, click here

    Comments (-1)